Bill goes to Bedford, Andy to Hubbards

Former Coast food editor Andy Murdoch has a piece about St. Lawrence’s kitchen, a take out blah blah blah…zzzzzz…..
And Bill Spurr hit the Cellar in Bedford, which he liked. I don’t live far from the Cellar, but I never eat there–when I reviewed it, I did not enjoy it at all (and I went back several times). Does this mean Spurr is wrong? I can say I don’t agree with him, but I can’t say he was wrong because I wasn’t with him, and dining out is so subjective. Two people can go to a restaurant on the same night and have vastly different experiences, because there are so many factors at play.
Those factors fall into three key categories: Front of the House (dining room, service), Back of the House (food and beverage), and Diner (the guest).

Front of the House: A warm, efficient server is more likely to evoke a positive experience from a diner than a brusque, unprofessional one, even if the food is exactly the same. Are you as likely to linger and enjoy if your table is next to the door, in a high traffic area? How much better does the food seem to taste if you’re seated in, say, a booth next to a picture window that overlooks the water?

Going to the Back of the House–is it the Chef’s night off? Maybe the line is short staffed? If  you like your striploin rare, but the only meat left has been trimmed from the end of the loin and is very fatty with lots of sinew? If the cook who’s preparing your meal is a heavy smoker, you’re more likely to get your food more heavily seasoned than a non-smoker, as smokers’ taste buds are dulled.

And finally, the Diner: Let’s say you’re hungry–it can mean the food tastes much better than it actually is. Or, it can make the few minutes the server takes to bring you a menu feel like an hour, and so the service is perceived as lacking. If your partner is breaking up with you over dinner, chances are you won’t remember the meal as fondly as if you were getting engaged instead.

So I wouldn’t say Spurr is wrong about the Cellar. I’d just say all of the stars lined up to bring him a better experience than the ones I’ve had.

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑