You are getting sleeeepppyyyy…

When I was first diagnosed with ALS, the one thing I could not get under control was the fear. More than a fear actually, it was the sheer terror of knowing the horrific journey I was headed on, the gradual shutdown of all muscular function ending with a death likely from suffocation as my respiratory muscles were lost. And nowhere to turn, nothing to take, no prescriptions or treatments or hope for an alternate ending. That’s a pretty overwhelming reality to accept.

Then, in an ALS support forum, someone recommended hypnotherapy as a way to get fear under control; the hypnotherapist she’d used was even here in Victoria. Although I tend to be skeptical when it comes to such things, I was ready to try anything. The hypnotherapist, Julia, came over to meet with me (house calls are the best) and explained just how it worked, addressing my questions and concerns and assuring me I would not be clucking like a chicken or under her control or the usual tropes associated with hypnosis, and I decided to give it a go. And I did find a handful of small studies that indicated the potential for hypnotherapy to have positive effects on both psychological and physical well-being in ALS patients, so that reaffirmed it was more than just “mumbo jumbo”.

Within a few sessions, Julia had provided me with a coping mechanism, an ‘anchor’, to use when I became stressed, anxious, or downright fearful-and it worked. Quite well, in fact. Julia has become an integral part of my support network, and is a big reason that I have been able let go of fear and live in the moment. And no chicken imitations to speak of.

Mind’s Eye

Leaving my subconscious to battle
motor neurons I lifted off
and saw prayer flags in Bhutan
adorning village huts
drank chai tea, climbing
high, breathing deep
world at feet.
today, I’m
strong.

7 thoughts on “You are getting sleeeepppyyyy…

Add yours

  1. So very interesting. When I was dx’d with ALS in 1994 my tears were copious because I knew I wouldn’t see my son’s grow up. So glad your therapist worked

    Like

    1. 1994? That’s a long time (talk about understatement, right?)
      I would like to know, if it’s not too personal, how you have coped emotionally with living with a disease that you’re not supposed to have a future with?
      xo

      Like

      1. But with IBM, u can live a long time. It is a slow moving disease. Men don’t seem to manage as well. It must have to do with the muscle structure. It has been so slow for me that I have had a long time to adapt. I also use a low dose antidepressant (Lexapro). I have a very supportive Caregiver.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Stephen Hawking has lived with ALS since he was 21. I know his early-onset illness is rather rare, but he was expected to die by the time he was 25, and he is now 75. Still looking for new theories to prove. Liz, I know that you will continually find new ways to enjoy life and to educate the rest of us, who may be able to make a difference in some one’s life, as you have in ours.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, Pat
      There are a few outliers who have lived longer than 3-5 years as you know; most of those folks were diagnosed younger, like Mr. Hawking. There’s a doctor out of Duke U. who is studying these folks, actually, to find out why they live longer and to identify commonalities that might help others beat the odds.
      Thank you for stopping by ❤
      And most importantly, for your encouraging thoughts, words, and belief in me. I’m blessed to be surrounded by such friends ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

