Ship Ahoy!

Tomorrow is the start of cruise ship season here in our little corner of the world. I can’t help but be fascinated by these behemoths of the seas, mainly because our view lines up with their approach to the harbour, so I get to see them pretty darn close as they make their way to port.

I have family and dear friends that love cruising, but I’ve never felt the lure of the cruise ship. A combination of an old episode of Quincy ME, Love Boat reruns, and Dateline NBC specials regarding people that go overboard mysteriously has me convinced they’re all- well, you’ll see in today’s NaPoWriMo entry.

Bad News Cruise

These floating villages of the seas
that so many enjoy–they’re not for me.

The bountiful buffets piled so high
With exotic cuisine and tropical fruits
All I can see is botuli,
With salmonella in cahoots

The blue green water of swimming pools
Enticing, yes, tis true
But you know some kids will have broken rules
And have used it for a loo

A moonlit stroll, an unoccupied deck
Seems like such a romantic notion
Til a vengeful lover breaks your neck
And dumps you into the ocean

Nope, these floating villages aren’t for me,
Too bad, c’est dommage!
But to friends and family bound for sea,
I wish you Bon Voyage!

When you look out your front door as your ship comes in.
5 thoughts on “Ship Ahoy!

Add yours

  1. Liz, I’m one of those cruise fanatics. I actually would prefer to live on a ship and just come back for a land visit twice a year. Generally, I spend about two weeks a month on the sea and sometimes more if I’m crossing an ocean. It’s where I find peace. The Earth is mostly water and I’m comfortable with that. I’m also find of the healing properties of salt, especially the salt air.

    So there’s the other side of the coin so to speak. I don’t see what you see on a ship.

    I do love your view.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I too, love the sea and being aboard a ship, and am happiest near water. Comes from growing up on a island, with so much culture formed from the sea.
      As to cruise ship, don’t take too much to heart what I’ve said, lots of it tongue-in-cheek and making fun of myself moreso than those that love cruising. As always, thank you so much for stopping by ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

