IMG_3324As with the previous three years, I get midway through National Poetry Writing Month (NaPoWriMo) and think to myself “really? Did I really think I could post a poem about food every day for a month?” And this after somewhat cheating by already using a repeat post, and yesterday’s off topic rant. And did I really allot only 15 minutes or so per day to spend on same? Why yes, yes I did.
Inspiration for today comes from an unlikely source. Since moving west, I became an accidental hockey fan, and have been attending the Victoria Royals (same league as the Halifax Mooseheads) games. The Royals are in Round 2 of WHL playoff action, and tonight they’re playing the Kelowna Rockets (who are up 2-0 in best of 7 series). Well, the Rockets logo sports the head of Lake Okanagan’s Ogopogo which looks suspiciously like a dragon. So, dragon fruit (pitaya).

Ogopogo? Or dragon?
Ogopogo? Or dragon?

Dragon Fruit Haiku

fierce exterior
disguises mild, soft insides
never judge a book

