IMG_3761
It’s been too long since I last posted, caught up as I am with establishing a freelance career on this coast. Juggling that, my novel Silvern Voices, and the arrangements for the debut of A Real Newfoundland Scoff hasn’t left as much blogging time as I’d like. Actually, the time is there, but the butt is not–there’s only so long I can sit and focus on a computer screen.

So, cookies. I’m not much into baking sweets–no patience for all the careful measuring and timing and sifting and blending and beating. And making cookies is the worst–the division of the dough into little circles, so tedious. But I had a sweet craving tonight that wasn’t going away, and I’ve had a hankering for peanut butter cookies, which leads to one thing: the recipe straight off the Kraft™ Peanut Butter jar. The simplest cookie recipe I know, this is the fastest route to quelling the craving, about half hour from start to finish and that includes the bowl washing. Without further ado, the recipe:

Kraft™ Peanut Butter Cookies
1 cup Kraft Smooth Peanut Butter
1 /2 cup white sugar
1 egg

*chocolate chips (my addition, about a handful if you have a small hand)

Preheat oven to 325F. Combine all ingredients and stir well. Form into cookies and bake for about 20 minutes, til slightly browned.

A handful of chocolate chips makes everything better.
A handful of chocolate chips makes everything better.

The only complaint I have about this recipe is that it claims to make 24 cookies. Now, I don’t know how small a cookie can be before it’s considered a crumb, but I guarantee this mix does not make two dozen cookies. I get 15, and that’s with a handful of chocolate chips thrown in.

See? Definitely not 2 dozen cookies!
See? Definitely not 2 dozen cookies!

These cookies are a great springboard for customization, and not just with chocolate chips. How about a swirl of raspberry jam in the dough, or the addition of chopped pecans? What would you put in your peanut butter cookie dough?

