Seafood Udon
Seafood Udon

Little Tokyo is an unassuming little spot holding down the corner of a strip mall on Admiral’s Road, the sort of place you’d likely not notice if you were just passing through. We were stopping in the nearby grocery store one night, and not wanting to make the mistake of food shopping on an empty stomach (ever do that? And end up carting out seven bags when you went in for bread?), we decided to try it out. The small space is spotless, the service superb.
Over several visits, we’ve tried several dishes, although not any sushi yet.

Tempura Prawns
Tempura Prawns
Beef Teriyaki (l) Gyoza (r)
Beef Teriyaki (l) Gyoza (r)

Tempura prawns are battered with a light hand and expertly fried, crispy and not at all greasy.
Gyoza dumplings have a smidge thicker wrapper than I prefer, but the pork filling has plenty of flavour and the accompanying dipping sauce is strong, salty, and a great complement in small amounts.
Beef teriyaki is tender and very good, although each time I have it the amount of ginger varies so there’s a consistency issue; it comes on steamed rice and the portion size is generous.
Our menu favourite so far is the udon soup. Laden with thick, chewy udon noodles, these soups are a meal unto themselves.
I prefer the chicken or beef to the seafood, mainly because of the crab flavoured pollock–I never liked that.
Little Tokyo is not fine Japanese dining by any means, but it’s not meant to be. But Little Tokyo scores big for service, and the food is good, plentiful, and cheap.
I look forward to working my way through the rest of the menu, and not just to curb my impulse grocery shopping.

NANOWRIMO Update: I am singing the mid-month, tired of writing, halfway there blues. But the Silvern Voices at the Constellation have begun to speak to me, and she’s telling me she wants to be heard.

