Greenegg

Green Eggs and Ham, a children’s classic. Dr. Suess used only 50 words to write this, the tale of a creature dubiously named “Sam-I-Am”, who spends the book stalking the narrator, upon whom he tries to force spoiled food for some sinister reason. The narrator, worn down, exhausted, and out of options, succumbs to Sam-I-Am and eats the rotten food and even goes to far as to thank the relentless chaser.
But for all it’s ominous undertones, it has a pleasing, sing-songy rhythm that is easy to write poetry for.
With apologies to the good doctor, I give you Fried Eggs and Spam.

I do so like fried eggs and Spam,
I do so like them, thank you ma’am.

I would so eat them on my boat
Although I know they do not float
I would so eat them in my car
Although I could not drive too far

I would so eat them with my dogs
Although they’d rather “lassy” mogs
I would so eat them with my mate
Although he’d steal them off my plate

I would so eat them in my bed
Although I’d like a dish instead
I would so eat them at the gym
Although I could not eat and swim

I would so eat them with a spoon
Although a fork would make me swoon
I would so eat them on the floor
Although by now I have no more.

