Oh, the torment of the New Year’s Resolution, empty promises made to be broken; February Kijiji ads littered with the broken remnants of good intentions. Determination and willpower dissolve faster than the fireworks that ushered them in. A treadmill here, a smoking cessation kit there. I can’t live with the pressure, so I don’t put it on myself–I don’t solve by not resolving.
New Year, new start and all that is rather appealing though, so I wondered if there wasn’t something realistic I could aim for, something that I could set as an attainable, measurable goal. I looked at the shelves in my office, and found my answer.

Cookbooks

New Year’s Resolution: I’m gonna put the ‘cook’ back in cookbook, and prepare a dish using a recipe from one of my collection, once a week. No more just looking at the pictures. On Saturday or Sunday. Yeah, that’s what I’m gonna do. I can do that.
I’ll let you know how it goes. In the meantime, if you want to share your food resolutions with me, I’d love to hear them!

